DYW program awards LHS juniors


Women that are in their junior year of high school, from both Lewiston and Clarkston High Schools, participated in the annual Distinguished Young Women event on May 6. Participants showcased their abilities in fitness, talent and self-expression, as well as interviews conducted the previous night and scholastic achievements.
The winner for Lewiston was Maya Conklin, collecting a total of $2,650 in scholarship money. Along with the title of Distinguished Young Woman, Conklin won the talent event.
The first alternate was Kaylynn Osburn, who received $2,950 total scholarship funds and was awarded in the interview and scholastic categories.
The second alternate was Maggie Carr, who gained recognition in the scholastic category and gained $2,100 in scholarships.
Winners of self-expression include Lauren Martin and Kate Pernsteiner, both gaining $400 in scholarships. Erika Wicks took home $600 for the interview award. Olivia and Lynsie Bren received $400 each in the fitness performance. Aubrey Woods won $500 for the talent award. The spirit award, which is voted on by the girls themselves, was earned by Isabella Pritchett, giving her $600.
For the Clarkston competition, Gracie Wessels won overall, collecting $4,150 in scholarships. Sienna Newhouse was the first runner-up with $2,850, and Lauryn Higgins was awarded $1,500 as the second runner-up.